TOP TEN TUESDAY: Summer TBR

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl.

It’s been three months since I posted my Spring TBR, and I’ve only managed to read two books out of the ten featured there. I am still intending to read the other eight books soon, but I won’t be mentioning any of them again in this post or it would get very repetitive! I also won’t be mentioning the eight books I shouted out in my mid-year freak out book tag video on Saturday, so make sure to check that out if I don’t mention your new favourite book down below.

Without further ado, here are another ten books I’m hoping to read (but probably won’t)…

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

Ooh, we’re starting off with an ambitious one! I’m planning to get A Court of Wings and Ruin read this month, because I enjoyed A Court of Mist and Fury much more than I had expected. If I enjoy the third book as much as the second, it won’t take a lot of convincing for me to get through the A Court of Frost and Starlight novella, and then I’ll be ready to read the newest Maas release.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

I hadn’t heard of All American Boys until it popped up on the newly added section on Borrowbox, but it was actually released back in 2015! All American Boys sounds like it’s going to be hard-hitting, as a boy gets brutally beaten by a police officer and his classmate sees the events play out but isn’t sure what to do for the best. I think this is going to be a powerful discussion of police brutality and the impact that bystanders can have if they decide to take action. As I already love Jason Reynolds’ writing, this is a 5 star prediction for me.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I was meant to read An Ember in the Ashes last month, as I’m trying to take part in Bookish Buddies’ EmberintheAshalong. Unfortunately I didn’t read it in time, and I’m now halfway through A Torch Against the Night‘s month and I still haven’t started the first book in the series! Catching up with this readalong is a huge priority of mine over the summer (hopefully in time to read the final book, A Sky Beyond the Storm, with the rest of the participants).

The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

I’ve heard amazing things about Grady Hendrix’s writing, so when I saw The Final Girl Support Group on NetGalley I couldn’t resist pressing the request button. I did NOT expect my request to be approved, and I lost my shit when I saw that the publisher’s had decided to let me access an early copy. This is one I’m definitely going to get to before release date, but it’s out on the 13th of July so I don’t have long to pick it up!

The Girls Are All So Nice Here by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

I loved Laurie Elizabeth Flynn’s debut novel, Firsts, so I’m looking forward to diving into her first adult novel. This is a thriller about two girls who attend their college reunion, and someone who is out for revenge because of their past actions. It sounds like it’s going to be perfect for fans of Friend Request and The Perfect Girlfriend – both of which I really enjoyed – so I should actually get around to reading this one over the summer.

I’ve also just discovered that Laurie Elizabeth Flynn wrote a free Wattpad prequel novella to Firsts, and I haven’t read that yet, so even though that’s not officially on this list I’ll be getting to that soon too.

My Name is Jensen by Heidi Amsinck

My Name is Jensen is released on August 5th, but Muswell Press kindly sent me an early copy for review! Getting this read before its release date is going to be my top priority, but based off of how gripping the synopsis is this book will basically read itself to me. A journalist finds the body of a homeless man on her way home from work, and she’s forced to call her ex-boyfriend – a Detective Inspector – for help. Drama, drama!

The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He

I haven’t read Joan He’s Descendent of the Crane yet, but The Ones We’re Meant to Find was featuring in May’s OwlCrate so I’ll be reading this as part of their readalong towards the end of the month. As far as I’m aware, The Ones We’re Meant to Find is about two sisters who get separated and are trying to find their way back to each other. It’s been described as similar to We Were Liars (which I haven’t read) and Black Mirror (which I haven’t seen), so if I enjoy this book I’ll have to explore those things as well.

Such Pretty Things by Lisa Heathfield

I loved Lisa Heathfield’s Paper Butterflies, so when I discovered she’d written an adult horror novel I borrowed it from the library straight away. Unfortunately, I still haven’t gotten to it, and my loan is expiring very soon! I’m hoping to borrow this one again and get it read as soon as I can, because I don’t read many horror novels but I’ve always wanted to read more of them.

Summertime Stories by Enid Blyton

I meant to read Summertime Stories last summer, as I read Winter Stories in December 2019. Sadly, I didn’t remember to pick it up until September, so I decided to leave it for another few months and I won’t let myself forget to read it this year. Enid Blyton’s short story collections combine a ton of short tales – most less than 15 pages – with some strong educational morals about manners and nature (among other things), and these are a breeze to get through very quickly.

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Wither featured on my ‘These books will self-destruct in 12 months’ list, so I need to try to read it at some point before May 18th 2022. However, I’m currently reading Lauren Oliver’s Delirium – another dystopian which gives me similar vibes to Wither – and I’m enjoying it a lot, so it’s pushing Wither up my TBR by association. Hopefully I’ll get this one ticked off during the summer months.

I hope you enjoyed this summer TBR post. How many of the books on your spring TBR did you get to? Are you planning on picking any of these up soon yourself?

Thanks for reading,

Alyce

X