Brief blogs for busy bees

Tag: spotlight

Blog tour: Where The Truth Lies by M.J. Lee

Blog tour: Where The Truth Lies by M.J. Lee

Hello, and welcome to my stop on the Where The Truth Lies blog tour. I’ve teamed up with Canelo quite a few times this year, and I’m glad I was invited to participate in the blog tour for this book, because it’s a corker. It’s the first […]

Spotlight: More Than Us by Dawn Barker

Spotlight: More Than Us by Dawn Barker

It’s been a little while since I hosted a spotlight post, but I’m pleased to welcome you to my stop on the More Than Us blog tour. A huge thank you to Ellie at Canelo, for inviting me to take part in this tour and for allowing […]

Spotlight: Tell No Lies by Lisa Hartley

Spotlight: Tell No Lies by Lisa Hartley

After I had so much fun spotlighting Unconvicted by Olly Jarvis, I was over the moon when Canelo invited me to do the same for Lisa Hartley’s Tell No Lies.

 

I’m going to share my thoughts on Ask No Questions, the first book in the series, before telling you all about Tell No Lies. I promise I’ll keep it spoiler free, but you’re more than welcome to keep scrolling if you don’t want to risk it!

 

Ask No Questions by Lisa Hartley review header

‘The blood haunted her. She saw it pool beneath her feet when she walked down the street, felt it spatter her skin as she showered.’

When we meet Detective Caelan Small, she’s in Egypt trying to track down the one that got away. Seb Lambourne, the man who kidnapped and killed 10-year-old Charlie Flynn, and then murdered Caelan’s colleague, Nicky, right in front of her, before mysteriously disappearing into the night.

Because of that case, Caelan retired. But now rumours are flying that Seb Lambourne is back in England, and Caelan is the only detective skilled enough to be able to find him…

Ask No Questions has a plot which constantly changes direction. At first, it seems simple: Caelan is going to shadow Lambourne’s son, Ronnie Morgan, until she discovers enough information to find the man himself. But when Ronnie receives a mysterious phone call and boards a train to London – a completely out of character move for a guy who’s never missed a university lecture before – things spin rapidly out of control.

If you like books keeping you on the edge of your seatAsk No Questions certainly does that. People drop dead left, right and centre, and Caelan is always in the middle of the action. This causes her colleagues to point their fingers at her, and even though the reader knows she’s completely innocent it seems impossible that she’ll get herself out of these sticky situations.

However, because the focus of the story constantly shifts it makes the plot disorienting and difficult to follow (until the end of the novel, when the person behind it all is revealed and all of the pieces fall into place). That makes it extremely rereadable, because there are hints dropped throughout that don’t seem relevant until the end. I was mad at myself for dismissing some of the more obvious ones. Keep your eyes open and you’ll figure out what’s going on much faster than I did!

All in all, this is a great introduction to a strong female detective. At times it feels slow and clunky, but at other points it’s impossible to put down and the pages fly past. I’m excited to read Tell No Lies, because now Caelan has been introduced and her backstory has been explored things are bound to get cranked up a notch.

Talking of which, it’s time to showcase book number two!

 

About the book:

The second book focused on Detective Caelan Small, Tell No Lies was released on February 19th and has been gripping readers since.

Tell No Lies by Lisa Hartley cover

A tortured body is found in a basement. Drug dealing and people smuggling is on the rise. Then police start going missing.

There seems to be no connection between the crimes, but Detective Caelan Small senses something isn’t right.

Plunged into a new investigation, lives are on the line. And in the web of gangs, brothels and nerve-shattering undercover work, Caelan must get to the truth – or be killed trying.

And then there’s Nicky…

Utterly gripping, written with searing tension and remarkable dexterity, Tell No Lies is a blistering crime novel for fans of Angela Marsons, Rebecca Bradley and Faith Martin.

Click on the image of Tell No Lies above to visit Goodreads and learn more about the book.

If you’re interested in Tell No Lies, you can purchase a copy via Amazon, Google Books or Apple Books. Alternatively, if you’d like to meet Detective Caelan Small at the beginning, you can purchase Ask No Questions via Amazon.

(Disclaimer: if you purchase Ask No Questions or Tell No Lies using my Amazon Affiliate links, I will receive a few pennies at no extra cost to you). 

About the author:Lisa Hartley

 

Lisa Hartley lives with her partner, son, two dogs and several cats. She graduated with a BA (Hons) in English Studies, then had a variety of jobs but kept writing in her spare time. She is currently working on the next DS Catherine Bishop novel, as well as a new series with Canelo.

 

You can find Lisa on Twitter.

 

I hope you enjoyed this spotlight post as much as I did. Thanks again to Canelo, for inviting me to participate in this blog tour: make sure to check out some of the other posts, because there are a lot of brilliant bloggers involved!

Alyce

X

Spotlight: Unconvicted by Olly Jarvis

Spotlight: Unconvicted by Olly Jarvis

Hello, and welcome to my stop on the Unconvicted blog tour. You might have noticed that the tour banner features my old blog’s name – that’s because I’m a forgetful fly and didn’t update my blog details with the lovely folks at Canelo. Sorry for the confusion, […]